Living in Hoth – The 2011 Blizzard

It has been three days now since I have taught school. I am itching to get back to work. I am not itching to drive a one lane road 15 miles to work but life is returning to normal in northern Illinois. Yesterday was spent slowly clearing the driveway, sidewalk, and backyard for all humans and four legged creatures to use. It was a daunting task in an historical storm.

This view greeted me when I opened the garage door. Somewhere in that drift was my step-daughter’s car.

After digging my way out of the garage, I found her car encased in six feet of snow drift. At this point I thought I was in “The Empire Strikes Back”.

The door to the house was not much better. By the end of the day, I was pooped.

All it took was 8 hours to shovel everything. I would shovel for 20 minutes followed by 45-60 minutes of rest.

But the driveway, doggie area, and sidewalk were all cleared.

Luckily the wind kept the snow off the roof. My biggest fear was 2 feet of snow on the roof falling through.

In terms of wind, this was the most sustained winds in a snowstorm I can recall. The blizzard of 2011 is supposedly the third highest recorded snowfall in the last 125 years in northern Illinois. I don’t think it has anything on Hoth.

This is what my backyard looks like.

2 thoughts on “Living in Hoth – The 2011 Blizzard

  1. We have a guy that plows most of our drive except four feet from the house. Of course that’s where the ginormous drift was this time. So,..you know who had to do it.

Leave a Reply

